MAY 2017

Hsun-Yu “Sharon” Chuang, Instructor of Communication was invited to serve on the review committee for the Cooper Award, established by Central States Communication Association (CSCA). The award is given to an outstanding PhD and MA student-teacher evaluated by CSCA.

John E. Cort, Professor of Religion, received a highly selective fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation for 2017-18. The fellowship will assist him in completing a book project with the working title Naked Devotion: The Devotional Culture of the Digambar Jains in Early Modern North India. 

Nancy E. Gibson, Senior Associate Director of Admission and Director of Multi-Ethnic Admission was recently elected to serve as the President-Elect for the Ohio Association for College Admission Counseling. She will serve a three year term. OACAC is an organization made up of both college admission counselors and high school counselors from the state of Ohio, and is an affiliate of the National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC).

Stephanie Henkle, Affiliate Instructor in Voice, is serving a 2 year term on the National Membership Committee of the National Association of Teachers of Singing.

Jonathan Maskit, Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy, has been selected as a participant in the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) sponsored Institute “City/Nature: Urban Environmental Humanities” at the University of Washington in Seattle (26 June—14 July).

Nausica Marcos Miguel, Assistant Professor of Spanish, was awarded with the Language Learning Early Career Research Grant for a project called “Analyzing vocabulary acquisition in upper-level Spanish L2 content courses.”

K Christine Pae, Associate Professor of Religion and Women’s and Gender Studies, received a $7,500 grant from the Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning Religion and Theology. The Wabash grant supports the mid-career faculty in Religious Studies across the United States who design their small mentoring groups. In 2017–2018, Pae’s group will work on innovative pedagogies, faculty development and self-care, and Asian American women leadership in higher education. Christine is also elected to be a co-chair of the Women and Religion Unit, American Academy of Religion (2017–2020).

Chris David Westover, Assistant Professor of Music, was awarded a grant from the Granville Community Foundation. The grant supports a November 2017 performance of Hector Berlioz’s Grande Symphonie Funebre et Triomphale in conjunction with a Veterans Day concert in Swasey Chapel given by the Denison University Wind Ensemble.

David White, Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science, was invited to be a Research Visitor at the University of Barcelona for May – July 2017

Sheilah Wilson, Associate Professor of Studio Art, received a fellowship from the George A. and Eliza Gardner Howard Foundation (administered through Brown University Providence, RI).  The foundation awarded eight fellowships of $33,000 each for the 2017-2018 academic year. Wilson’s fellowship provides support for her continued work on Shameless Light, second in the SOTD (Strangely Ordinary This Devotion) trilogy.

Shao-yun Yang, Assistant Professor of History, received the Journal of Chinese Military History‘s Edward L. Dreyer Prize for best article in Chinese military history by an early-career scholar in recognition of his article “Letting the Troops Loose: Pillage, Massacres, and Enslavement in Early Tang Warfare.” The prize includes a cash award and free open-access publication on the journal website.

Named Chairs and Endowed Professorships and Fellowships

Charles and Nancy Brickman Distinguished Leadership Chair – Gary L. Baker,  Professor of Modern Languages

Lorena Woodrow Burke Chair of English – Sandra Runzo, Associate Professor of English

Beverly Fleischmann Endowed Professorship – Christine Armstrong, Associate Professor of Modern Languages

Judy Gentili Chair in International Studies – John E. Cort, Professor of Religion

Dr. Viola K. Kleindienst Professorship – Kirk Combe, Professor of English

Charles A. Brickman Teaching Excellence Award  

Rebecca N. Homan, Associate Professor of Biology

Bonar Family Mentoring and Teaching Award

Robert Ghiloni, Assistant Professor of Physical Education

Jane Dougan